Every other year, our inbox fills up with questions about continuing education and chiropractic license renewal. We’ve compiled the following answers to the most common questions. If you do not find your answer, please feel free to contact us and we’ll add it to the page,
You also might consider reaching out directly to the OPLC customer service line. Additionally, you can visit sections 404 and 405 of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners Laws and Rules for all rules regarding relicensure and continuing education.
Please note that as a nonprofit professional association, the New Hampshire Chiropractic Association is not directly involved in the state’s license renewal process. We are here to provide informational resources, serve as an advocate, and act as a liaison. Specific questions about the status of your individual license must be directed to OPLC. If needed, we would be glad to connect you with our contacts at OPLC who can provide further support.
How do I renew my New Hampshire chiropractic license?
Renewal can be completed online at NH’s Online Licensing. You will receive an automatic email from the licensing office at least two months prior to your license expiration, sent to the email you supplied the office. In the online portal, you will upload PDF files of your CEU certificates, and pay online.
Check out our 7-minute video walkthrough of the license renewal process as NHCA President Dr. Brendan McCann completes his own renewal online.
How much does it cost to renew a chiropractic license in New Hampshire?
License renewal costs $300. This is paid as part of the electronic renewal process by credit or debit card.
When do I need to renew my NH chiropractic license?
For most currently licensed chiropractors, license renewal occurs on odd-numbered years, meaning licenses are renewed on a two-year cycle. Continuing education documentation and payment should be received by the Office of Professional Licensure by June 30th. Licenses expire on July 1st.
If you are a new licensee as of or following February 2023, your license will expire two years from the date of issuance, on the last day of the month in the month the license was issued.
Individual exceptions may apply. We encourage you to verify your own license expiration date through New Hampshire Online Licensing.
How many continuing education credits do NH chiropractors need for license renewal?
In New Hampshire, chiropractors are required to complete 20 hours of continuing education per cycle, approved by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners via the Office of Professional Licensure.
Get started with your license renewal here.
How much online/remote education can be accepted for license renewal?
Prior to 2020, NH chiropractors were permitted to take up to 25% (5 hours) of their continuing education via remote education.
Currently, rules state that hours of electronic participation shall constitute no more than 50% (10 hours) of the total hours of required continuing education, unless an individual must complete the entirety of their continuing education virtually as a result of a disability.
How do online hours work? Is there a quiz associated?
The Board of Chiropractic Examiners requires that New Hampshire licensees participating in electronic continuing education complete an assessment and score 80% or higher. Assessments are typically just intended to make sure that you were present and paying attention.
What courses are accepted for credit?
Valid continuing education courses include those that are approved by: The International Chiropractors Association; The American Chiropractic Association; Any state-chartered chiropractic school or college; or Providers of Approved Continuing Education (PACE).
Other allowed course included: Courses the at pre-approved by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners; Emergency and first aid courses sponsored by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association, provided that no more than 4 hours shall be credited; and courses on certain allowed topics sponsored by a school or college accredited by CCE or any other national or regional accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of Education.